International Orders & Military Collectibles

International Orders & Military Collectibles

O88m | Online auction | 603 Lots

June 24, 2021 | Start: 10:00 am (CET)

Our auction "International Orders & Military Collectibles" includes 603 lots and will be auctioned in our auction rooms in Grasbrunn near Munich. The auction will take place on Thursday, June 24, 2021. Further information can be found below.

Auction Dates

June 24, 2021  |  Lot No. 9001 - 9603 |  Start: 10:00 am (CET) 

Pre-sale viewing

The pre-sale view will take place from 16. until 19.06.20201 in our auction rooms at Bretonischer Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich from 11 am to 5 pm (CET).

ATTENTION: Important information about COVID-19 please click HERE

Auction location

Online only auction!

Information
Order number: O88m
Auktion: 88
Number of lots 603
Department: Orders & Militaria
Description

This summer's catalogue of International orders and military antiques holds a wide array of interesting pieces in store, with several highlights as a bonus. These include a distinguished leather case belonging to Louis François Legrand, Secretary General of the Imperial Post, 1804 - 1815 (lot 9147). Made of red morocco leather with gold embossing, it bears the inscription "LE SÉCRÉTAIRE GÉNÉRAL DES POSTES IMPÉRIALES" in gold. It is extremely rare for such an early artefact to be attributed beyond doubt to a specific person. Louis François Legrand (1752-1841) was Secretary General of the Post from 1791 until his retirement in 1816. Serving under four successive governments, he had a decisive influence on the French postal service during the Napoleonic Era.

Moreover, dating from the First Empire, we will be presenting six autographs of Napoleon I, among them a letter from his invasion of Russia in 1812, in which he sends commands to Ney from Smolensk (lot 9154). The magnificent robes of the Hungarian magnates, such as the two-part gala costume (lot 9270), are virtually unobtainable on the market. These fine garments were worn by the Hungarian high nobility, which was also part of the government, on important occasions and at solemn ceremonies. They were made of opulent materials such as silk brocade and velvet, embellished with gilt lacing and fur trim. Typical occasions include the coronation of Kaiser Franz Joseph and Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary in Budapest in 1867 and the millennium celebration in Budapest in 1896. Count Ödön von Szechenyi, Count Andrassy and Prince Esterhazy are famous for their sumptuous robes.

Next up is a rare visor cap from the tropical uniform issued to officers in the imperial German protection force in the colonies (lot 9592). The top is made of sand-coloured corduroy, while the top piping and trim are in ponceau red cloth. Furthermore, lot 9593 is a similar officer's cap from the protection force in Cameroon and Togo. Among the insignia on offer is an Order of the Iron Crown, 3nd Class with war decoration, inscribed "Rozet & Fischmeister", complete with its reddish-brown presentation case (lot 9054). The four-part orders clasp awarded to a Bavarian officer (lot 9091) boasts a Military Merit Order 4th Class with Swords, the riband buckle stamped "950" and the manufacturer's initials "JL" (Jacob Leser, Straubing).

Also worthy of note is the Iron Cross 1st Class, engraved with the name of the bearer, a regiment physician during World War I (lot 9105), who continued to practise as a doctor for many years following his return to Gütersloh, making his mark in local history.

 

 

 

Information
Order number: O88m
Auktion: 88
Number of lots 603
Department: Orders & Militaria

Internationale Orden & militärhistorische Sammlungsstücke

Internationale Orden & militärhistorische Sammlungsstücke

O88m | Onlineauktion | 603 Lose

24. Juni 2021 | Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ)

Unsere Auktion "Internationale Orden & militärhistorische Sammlungsstücke" beinhaltet 603 Lose. Die Auktion findet am Donnerstag, den 24. Juni 2021, als reine Onlineauktion statt. Beginn ist 10:00 Uhr (MEZ). Vorbesichtigungsdaten sowie weitere Informationen finden Sie weiter unten.

Auktionszeitraum

24. Juni 2021  |  Losnr.: 9001 - 9603 |  Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ) 

Vorbesichtigung

Die Vorbesichtigung findet vom 16. bis 19.06.20201 in unseren Auktionsräumen am Bretonischen Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / München von jeweils 11 bis 17 Uhr (MEZ) statt.

ACHTUNG: Wichtige aktuelle Informationen wegen COVID-19 finden Sie HIER

Versteigerungsort

Onlineauktion (Die Auktion findet nur im Internet statt!)

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: O88m
Auktion: 88
Anzahl der Lose: 603
Fachthema: Orden & Militaria
Beschreibung

Der Katalog Internationale Orden und Militaria hält diesen Sommer ein reichhaltiges Angebot an interessanten Stücken mit einigen Highlights bereit. Darunter befindet sich eine repräsentative Ledermappe von Louis François Legrand, Generalsekretär der Kaiserlichen Post, 1804 - 1815 (Los 9147). Sie besteht aus rotem Maroquinleder mit Goldgprägungen und dem goldenen Schriftzug "LE SÉCRÉTAIRE GÉNÉRAL DES POSTES IMPÉRIALES". Es ist sehr selten, dass ein solch frühes Objekt einer konkreten Person zugeordnet werden kann. Louis François Legrand (1752-1841) war Generalsekretär der Post von 1791 bis zu seiner Pensionierung 1816. So diente er unter vier aufeinander folgenden Regierungen und hatte richtungsweisenden Einfluss auf den französischen Postdienst in der Napoleonischen Ära.

Aus dem Ersten Kaiserreich werden wir außerdem sechs Autographen von Napoleon I. anbieten, darunter einen Brief von seinem Russlandfeldzug 1812, in dem er aus Smolensk Befehle an Ney sendet (Los 9154). So gut wie nicht erhältlich sind die Prachtkleider der ungarischen Magnaten wie das zweiteilige Galakleid Los (Los 9270). Diese feinen Kleidungsstücke wurden vom ungarischen Hochadel, der auch an der Regierung beteiligt war, zu wichtigen Anlässen und festlichen Zeremonien getragen. Edle Materialen wie Seidenbrokat, Samt, vergoldete Verschnürungen und Pelzbesatz kamen dabei zum Einsatz. Beispiele für Anlässe sind die Krönung Kaiser Franz Josephs und Kaiserin Elisabeths von Österreich-Ungarn in Budapest 1867 oder die Millenniumsfeier 1896 in Budapest. Als Träger solcher Prachtgewänder sind Graf Ödön von Szechenyi, Graf Andrassy oder Fürst Esterhazy bekannt.

Von der kaiserlichen deutschen Schutztruppe in den Kolonien blieb eine seltene Schirmmütze zur Tropenuniform für Offiziere (Los 9592) erhalten. Der Mützendeckel besteht aus sandfarbenem Cord, Deckelvorstoß und Besatzstreifen aus ponceaurotem Tuch. Eine ähnliche Offiziersmütze der Schutztruppe in Kamerun und Togo geht als Los 9593 an den Start. Unter den angebotenen Auszeichnungen befindet sich ein Orden der Eisernen Krone, 3. Klasse mit Kriegsdekoration bezeichnet "Rozet & Fischmeister" im rotbraunem Verleihungsetui (Los 9054). Die vierteilige Ordensschnalle eines bayerischen Offiziers (Los 9091) ziert ein Militärverdienstorden 4. Klasse mit Schwertern, an der Agraffe punziert mit "950" und dem Hersteller "JL" (Jacob Leser, Straubing).

Etwas Besonderes ist auch das Eiserne Kreuz 1. Klasse mit Trägergravur eines Regimentsarztes im Ersten Weltkrieg (Los 9105), der in seiner Heimat Gütersloh später noch lange als Arzt wirkte und auch heimatgeschichtlich Spuren hinterließ.

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: O88m
Auktion: 88
Anzahl der Lose: 603
Fachthema: Orden & Militaria