Antique Arms and Armour from all over the world

Antique Arms and Armour from all over the world

A89aw | Live auction | 322 Lots

May 27, 2021 | Start: 10:00 am (CET)

Our auction "Antique Arms and Armour from all over the world" includes 322 lots and will be auctioned in our auction rooms in Grasbrunn near Munich. The auction will take place on Thursday, May 27, 2021. Further information can be found below.

ATTENTION: Important information about COVID-19 please click HERE

Auction Dates

May 27, 2021  |  Lot No. 1001 - 1322  |  Start: 10:00 am (CET) 

Pre-sale viewing

The pre-sale view will take place from 19 - 22 May, 25, 29 and 31 May 2021 in our auction rooms at Bretonischer Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich from 2 to 6 pm (CET).

ATTENTION: Important information about COVID-19 please click HERE.

Auction location

Hermann Historica, Bretonischer Ring 3, 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich

ATTENTION: Important information about COVID-19 please click HERE

Information
Order number: A89aw
Auktion: 89
Number of lots 322
Number of Pages: 288
Department: Antique Arms
Description

The 2021 Spring Auction also offers a wide selection of old arms, with over 300 superlative edged weapons and pieces of armour from all over the world.

Collectors of oriental weapons will find a treasure trove of sumptuous daggers, sabres and firearms from the Ottoman Empire, Persia and India, lavishly embellished with coral and ivory. Especially worthy of note here is a deluxe Ottoman shamshir (lot 1009), its gilt quillons additionally studded with diamonds in the shape of a star and crescent. Another outstanding prize, dating from the first half of the 19th century, is a complete suit of Persian armour (lot 1137), with fine ornamental iron chiselling and gold inlays.

Numerous Asian arms, such as magnificent Indonesian krises and Japanese swords, add the final flourish to the wide range of exotic weapons.

Connoisseurs of European suits and pieces of armour will be delighted to find a complete black and white half armour, circa 1560, as well as various helmets, coats of mail and components dating from the early Middle Ages to the beginning of the modern period.

One particular highlight of this year's auction is the fabulous Milanese parade shield circa 1560/70 (lot 1188), wrought with exquisite craftsmanship, which features an ancient battle scene with chased and gold-inlaid décor.

Along with numerous pole arms and hunting spears, this catalogue also includes a diverse assortment of rare European maces and war hammers, dating from the late Gothic and the Renaissance. We would like to draw your attention here to an extremely unusual Russian berdiche, with a silver damascened blade (lot 1207).

The lineup of European edged weapons is equally admirable. Another exceptional rarity is a French medieval sword, circa 1350, (lot 1228) with a delicate bronze pommel. Not just one but two splendid, silver-inlaid weapons of courtly quality (lots 1238 and 1239) stand out among the plethora of opulent rapiers. Above all, aficionados of early military edged weapons will be interested in a phenomenal, two-hand battle sword (lot 1232) dating from circa 1540. Moreover, an imposing, Brunswick two-hand sword, circa 1580 (lot 1236), is certainly one of the highlights of the auction.

The catalogue concludes with an array of crossbows and accessories. As well as two superb Renaissance crossbows, entirely covered in bone inlays (lots 1309 and 1311), there will be a chance to acquire several more affordable models in need of restoration, plus three complete iron cranequins.

Index

Antique Arms and Armour - Literature and Graphic, Arms and Armour - Ottoman Empire, Arms and Armour - Persian Empire, Arms and Armour - Indian Empire, Tibet and Nepal, China and Southeast Asia, Japan, The Indonesian Archipelago, African Arms and Armour, The Americas and Oceania, Spurs, Stirrups and Snaffle Bits, Armour, Polearms, Axes and Maces, Daggers, Knives and Cutlery, Swords, Epees and Rapiers, Hunting Hangers, Crossbows and Equipment

Information
Order number: A89aw
Auktion: 89
Number of lots 322
Number of Pages: 288
Department: Antique Arms

Antike Waffen und Rüstungen aus aller Welt

Antike Waffen und Rüstungen aus aller Welt

A89aw | Präsenzauktion | 322 Lose

27. Mai 2021 | Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ)

Unsere Auktion "Antike Waffen und Rüstungen aus aller Welt" beinhaltet 322 Lose und findet am Donnerstag, dem 27. Mai 2021 in unseren Auktionsräumen in Grasbrunn bei München statt. Beginnzeiten, Vorbesichtigungsdaten, sowei weitere Informationen finden Sie unten.

ACHTUNG: Wichtige Informationen wegen COVID-19 finden Sie HIER

Auktionszeitraum

27. Mai 2021  |  Losnr.: 1001 - 1322  |  Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ) 

Vorbesichtigung

Die Vorbesichtigung findet vom 19. - 22.05., 25.05., 29.05. und 31.05.2021 in unseren Auktionsräumen am Bretonischen Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / München von jeweils 11 bis 17 Uhr (MEZ) statt.

ACHTUNG: Wichtige aktuelle Informationen wegen COVID-19 finden Sie HIER

Versteigerungsort

Hermann Historica, Bretonischer Ring 3, 85630 Grasbrunn / München. 

ACHTUNG: Wichtige aktuelle Informationen wegen COVID-19 finden Sie HIER

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: A89aw
Auktion: 89
Anzahl der Lose: 322
Fachthema: Alte Waffen
Seitenzahl: 288
Beschreibung

Auch im Bereich alter Waffen bietet die Frühjahrsauktion 2021 ein breites Angebot mit gut 300 Positionen hochwertiger Blankwaffen und Rüstungsteilen aus aller Welt.

Sammler orientalischer Waffen finden hier kostbare, mit Korallen und Elfenbein verzierte Dolche, Säbel und Feuerwaffen aus dem osmanischen Reich, Persien und Indien. Hier ist besonders ein osmanischer Luxus-Shamshir (Los 1009) hervorzuheben, dessen vergoldete Parierstange zusätzlich mit Diamanten in Form von Stern und Halbmond besetzt ist. Herausragend auch ein in der ersten Hälfte des 19. Jhdts. entstandenes komplettes persisches Rüstungsset (Los 1137), das feinen eisengeschnittenen und in Gold tauschiertem Dekor aufweist.

Das reiche Angebot an exotischen Waffen wird durch zahlreiche asiatische Waffen, wie indonesischen Luxus-Krisen und japanischen Schwertern abgerundet.

Für die Liebhaber europäischer Harnische und Rüstungsteile offerieren wir neben einem kompletten schwarz-weißen Halbharnisch um 1560 Helme, Kettenhemden und Rüstungsteile vom frühen Mittelalter bis zur beginnenden Neuzeit.

Einen besonderen Höhepunkt der diesjährigen Auktion bietet ein extrem hochwertig gearbeiteter Mailändischer Paradeschild um 1560/70 (Los 1188), dessen plastisch getriebener und goldeingelegter Dekor eine antike Schlachtenszene zeigt.

Neben zahlreichen Stangenwaffen und jagdlichen Spießen enthält der aktuelle Katalog auch eine große Auswahl an seltenen europäischen Streitkolben und Streithämmern aus der Spätgotik und Renaissance. Hier möchten wir Ihr Augenmerk besonders auf eine extrem seltene russische Berdiche mit silbertauschiertem Blatt (Los 1207) lenken.

Hochwertig ist ebenso die Auswahl an europäischen Blankwaffen. Eine besondere Rarität ist z.B. ein französisches ritterliches Schwert um 1350 (Los 1228) mit fein gearbeitetem Bronzeknauf. Aus den zahlreichen kostbaren Rapieren ragen gleich zwei reich in Silber eingelegte Luxus-Waffen in höfischer Qualität hervor (Lose 1238 und 1239). Für die Liebhaber früher militärischer Blankwaffen muss insbesondere ein seltenes, beidhändig geführtes Kampfschwert (Los 1232) aus der Zeit um 1540 erwähnt werden. Auch ein großer Braunschweiger Bidenhänder um 1580 (los 1236) zählt sicher zu den Höhepunkten der Auktion.

Den Abschluss des Kataloges bildet eine Auswahl von Armbrusten und Zubehör, bei der neben zwei hochwertigen, voll verbeinten Renaissance-Armbrusten (Lose 1309 und 1311) auch mehrere günstige, restaurierungsbedürftige Exemplare sowie drei komplette eisern Armbrustwinden angeboten werden.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Alte Waffen - Literatur und Grafik, Waffen und Rüstungsteile Osmanisches Reich, Waffen und Rüstungsteile Persisches Reich, Waffen und Rüstungsteile Indisches Reich, Tibet und Nepal, China und Südostasien, Japan, Indonesischer Archipel, Afrikanische Waffen, Amerikanischer Kontinent, Ozeanien, Sporen, Steigbügel und Trensen, Schutzwaffen, Stangenwaffen, Äxte, Beile und Streitkolben, Dolche, Messer und Bestecke, Schwerter, Degen und Rapiere, Hirschfänger, Plauten und Jagdsäbel, Armbruste und Zubehör

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: A89aw
Auktion: 89
Anzahl der Lose: 322
Fachthema: Alte Waffen
Seitenzahl: 288