Works of Art, Antiquities

Works of Art, Antiquities

A80kua | Live auction | 1050 Lots

November 13-14, 2019

Our auction "Works of Art, Antiquities" includes 1,050 lots and will be auctioned off in two days. The auction will take place in our new auction rooms in Grasbrunn near Munich from November 13th to 14th, 2019. Further information can be found below.

Online catalogue available from mid-October

Auction Dates

Nov. 13, 2019  |  Lot No. 1601 - 2524  |  Start: 10:00 am (CET) 
Nov. 14, 2019  |  Lot No. 2525 - 2718  |  Start: 12:00 am (CET)

Pre-sale viewing

The pre-sale view will take place from Wednesday, 6.11. until Sunday, 10.11., and on Sunday, 17.11.2019 in our auction rooms at Bretonischer Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich from 2 to 6 pm (CET).

Auction location

Hermann Historica, Bretonischer Ring 3, 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich

Information
Order number: A80kua
Auktion: 80
Number of lots 1050
Department: Antiquities, Kunsthandwerk
Description

Around the world in 1,000 lots! 

The "Art and Handcrafts, Antiquity" catalogue for this live auction bears impressive testimony to the tremendous diversity of mankind's cultural history. 

Embark on a journey of discovery through original artefacts from the earliest advanced civilisations, such as the limestone statuette of an Egyptian pharaoh (lot 1601) or the signet ring worn by a Byzantine dignitary in the 6th century A.D. (lot 1770). The first part of the catalogue, the antiquities section, also showcases other aspects of everyday culture, such as the manifold concepts of the afterlife and death rituals: good examples of these are an Ancient Egyptian canopic jar (lot 1602), an early Iron Age death mask (lot 1820) or the slightly smaller than life-sized terracotta head of a warrior from the Meso-American Remojadas culture (lot 1870). In the 18th and 19th century, a fascination with the ancient world was firmly rooted in aristocratic and bourgeois circles; those who could afford it, undertook the Grand Tour. One souvenir from these travels is the exquisite miniature model of the Column of Marcus Aurelius (lot 1887). 

As regards the second part of the catalogue, we are delighted to be able to offer you a particularly diverse array of over500, hand-picked objects ranging from the early Middle Ages to the modern era. An unusual pair of French Renaissance armchairs represents the pinnacle of early European craftsmanship (lot 2227). Remarkable eye-catchers among the early metal works include a Gothic church bell (lot 2208), a wide selection of Nuremberg iron caskets and some top-notch 17th century pewter items, along with an engraved Viennese polishing jug, dating from approximately 1600 (lot 264). A large, 17th century ebony cabinet from Antwerp, its interior decorated with fine silk embroidery, stands out among the scores of sumptuous baroque caskets and coffers (lot 2275). 

Moreover, the numerous interesting pieces in the fine arts section will not escape buyers' notice. Besides various portraits from the Renaissance and Baroque periods, plenty of landscape and genre pictures from the 17th to 19th century are waiting to be snapped up. Among the sculptures, the fire-gilt bronze figure of Chronos (lot 2569), produced circa 1800 in Paris, is particularly worthy of note.

Equally outstanding is the abundant assortment of non-European antiques from Africa, Orient and Asia, for example, a rare, stone Buddha head from the Borobudur temple in Java. The larger-than-life piece (lot 2696) dates from the 9th century A.D. The parade of exceptional lots continues with a Blanc de Chine statue of Guanyin (lot 2663) and a Chinese sceptre, embellished with cut coral and cloisonné décor (lot 2665).

Information
Order number: A80kua
Auktion: 80
Number of lots 1050
Department: Antiquities, Kunsthandwerk

Kunst und Kunsthandwerk, Antiken

Kunst und Kunsthandwerk, Antiken

A80kua | Präsenzauktion | 1050 Lose

13. - 14. November 2019

Unsere Auktion "Kunst und Kunsthandwerk, Antiken" beinhaltet 1.050 Lose und wird in zwei Tagen versteigert. Die Auktion findet vom 13. - 14. November 2019 in unseren neuen Auktionsräumen in Grasbrunn bei München statt. Beginnzeiten, Vorbesichtigungsdaten, sowei weitere Informationen finden Sie unten. 

Auktionszeitraum

13. Nov. 2019  |  Losnr.: 1601 - 2524  |  Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ) 
14. Nov. 2019  |  Losnr: 2525 - 2718  |  Beginn: 12 Uhr (MEZ)

Vorbesichtigung

Die Vorbesichtigung findet vom Mittwoch, den 6.11. bis Sonntag, den 10.11., sowie am Sonntag, den 17.11.2019 in unseren Auktionsräumen am Bretonischen Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / München von jeweils 14 bis 18 Uhr (MEZ) statt.

Versteigerungsort

Hermann Historica, Bretonischer Ring 3, 85630 Grasbrunn / München

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: A80kua
Auktion: 80
Anzahl der Lose: 1050
Fachthema: Antiken, Kunsthandwerk
Beschreibung

Die Welt in über 1.000 Losen erfahren! 

Die Vielfalt menschlicher Kulturgeschichte spiegelt sich in eindrucksvoller Weise in diesem Katalog der Präsenzauktion „Kunst und Kunsthandwerk, Antiken“. 

Wir laden Sie ein, Originale antiker Hochkulturen wie die Kalksteinstatuette eines ägyptischen Pharaos (Los 1601) oder den Siegelring eines byzantinischen Würdenträgers aus dem 6. Jhdt n. C. (Los 1770) zu entdecken! Auch andere Bereiche der Alltagskultur wie etwa die Vielfalt von Jenseitsvorstellungen und Totenritualen sind im 1. Teil des Kataloges, der den Antiken gewidmet ist, zugegen: Exemplarisch sei auf eine altägyptische Kanope (Los 1602), eine früheisenzeitliche Totenmaske (Los 1820) und den leicht unterlebensgroßen Terrakotta-Kopf eines Kriegers der mesoamerikanischen Remojadas-Kultur (Los 1870) hingewiesen. Im 18. und 19. Jhdt. war die Antikenbegeisterung in adligen und bürgerlichen Kreisen fest verankert, und wer es sich leisten konnte, ging auf die Grand Tour. Zu den Mitbringseln zählt das exquisite Miniaturmodell der Marc Aurel-Säule (Los 1887). 

Im Hinblick auf den 2. Teil dieses Kataloges freuen wir uns, Ihnenein besonders vielfältiges Angebot mit über 500 ausgesuchten Losen von Frühmittelter bis zur Moderne präsentieren zu können. Den Höhepunkt des frühen europäischen Kunsthandwerks bilden ein seltenes Paar französischer Renaissance-Armlehnstühle (Los 2227). Bei den frühen Metallarbeiten fällt neben einer gotischen Kirchenglocke (Los 2208) eine große Auswahl Nürnberger Eisenkassetten und hochwertiger Zinngefäße des 17. Jhdts, genauso wie eine gravierte Wiener Schleifkanne aus der Zeit um 1600 (Los 264) ins Auge. Aus einer großen Auswahl kostbarer Kästchen und Kassetten des Barocks sticht ein großes Antwerpener Ebenholzkabinett des 17. Jhdts. hervor, dessen Inneneinrichtung mit feiner Seidenstickerei dekoriert ist (Los 2275). 

Auch im Bereich der bildenden Kunst sind zahlreiche interessante Stücke zu finden. Neben diversen Portraits der Renaissance und des Barocks finden sich auch Landschafts- und Genrebilder des 17. - 19. Jhdts. Bei den Skulpturen ist besonders die um 1800 in Paris entstandene, feuervergoldete Bronzeplastik des Chronos (Los 2569) hervorzuheben.

Hinzu kommt ein reiches Angebot an außereuropäischen Antiquitäten aus Orient, Afrika und Asien, so ein seltener, steinerner Buddha-Kopf von der Tempelanlage Borobudur auf Java. Das über lebensgroße Stück (Los 2696) wird in das 9. Jhdt. n.Chr. datiert. Weitere Highlights sind eine Blanc de Chine Figur der Guanyin (Los 2663), sowie ein mit geschnittener Koralle besetztes, chinesisches Szepter mit Cloisonné-Dekor (Los 2665). 

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: A80kua
Auktion: 80
Anzahl der Lose: 1050
Fachthema: Antiken, Kunsthandwerk