Fine Antique and Modern Firearms

Fine Antique and Modern Firearms

A80s | Live auction | 1505 Lots

November 11-12, 2019 | Start: 10:00 am (CET)

Our auction "Firearms of Five Centuries" includes 1,505 lots and will be auctioned off in two days. The auction will take place in our new auction rooms in Grasbrunn near Munich from November 11th to 12th, 2019. The start is at 10:00 am (CET). Further information can be found below.

Online catalogue available from mid-October

Auction Dates

Nov. 11, 2019  |  Lot No. 1 - 924  |  Start: 10:00 am (CET) 
Nov. 12, 2019  |  Lot No. 951 - 1531  |  Start: 10:00 am (CET)

Pre-sale viewing

The pre-sale view will take place from Wednesday, 6.11. until Sunday, 10.11., and on Sunday, 17.11.2019 in our auction rooms at Bretonischer Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich from 2 to 6 pm (CET).

Auction location

Hermann Historica, Bretonischer Ring 3, 85630 Grasbrunn / Munich, Germany

Information
Order number: A80s
Auktion: 80
Number of lots 1505
Department: Firearms
Description

Browsing through this comprehensive catalogue is a source of pleasure for the dedicated collector. Comprising over1,500 pieces, it enables us to take collectors and aficionados on a journey through the evolution of firearms.

While inventors were still experimenting with wheellocks at the dawn of the 16th century, the second half of the century saw the emergence of true masterpieces, such as a deluxe wheellock rifle from South Germany, lavishly adorned with bone inlays (lot 13). During the same period, state princes were arming their personal life guards with wheellock weapons that were almost equally elaborate. The Prince Elector of Saxony, for example, issued three different models of wheellock puffers to his trabant guard over the years (lots 38, 39, 40 and 41).

Almost one hundred years later, when the wheellock was superseded by the flintlock, the gun was naturally also used in the field and for hunting. Lot number 46 refers to an entire collection of flawless shotguns from the Royal Armoury maintained by George I of Hannover.

However, it was not just the northerners who appreciated beautiful hunting weapons. Hardly had the 18th century dawned when Frederick I, who crowned himself the first King of Prussia, commissioned Christian Haman to build him a lavishly embellished flintlock rifle (lot 53). There again, at the Austrian court more than a century later, the otherwise so frugal and dutiful Kaiser Franz Joseph I went deerstalking with an opulently decorated double rifle made by the renowned Prague gunmaker, Anton Vincent Lebeda (lot 62).

While, as time went by, a firearm only allowed hunters to fire one, or a few shots at best, some ingenious minds invented the metal cartridge, the revolver and, towards the end of the 19th century, multiple-shot, semi-automatic pistols, like the Bergmann-Schmeisser M 1894 (lot 460), the Schwarzlose Model Standard (lot 564) and the Mauser C 96. In our 80th Auction, we are offering collectors a chance to acquire the almost legendary, "early step-barrel cone hammer" pistol with the serial number 76 (lot 508); it is worth pointing out that the famous C 96 used by Kaiser Wilhelm II on the Katharinenholz shooting range in Potsdam bore the serial number 75.

In a logical process, following on the heels of the semi-automatic was the fully automatic handgun, such as the Stechkin APS, now available as a complete set in a carrying case (lot 1145).

Information
Order number: A80s
Auktion: 80
Number of lots 1505
Department: Firearms

Schusswaffen aus fünf Jahrhunderten

Schusswaffen aus fünf Jahrhunderten

A80s | Präsenzauktion | 1530 Lose

11. - 12. November 2019 | Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ)

Unsere Auktion "Schusswaffen aus fünf Jahrhunderten" beinhaltet 1.505 Lose und wird in zwei Tagen versteigert. Die Auktion findet vom 11. - 12. November 2019 in unseren neuen Auktionsräumen in Grasbrunn bei München statt. Beginn ist jeweils 10 Uhr (MEZ). Vorbesichtigungsdaten, sowei weitere Informationen finden Sie unten. 

Auktionszeitraum

11. Nov. 2019  |  Losnr.: 1 - 924  |  Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ)
12. Nov. 2019  |  Losnr: 951 - 1531  |  Beginn: 10 Uhr (MEZ)

Vorbesichtigung

Die Vorbesichtigung findet vom Mittwoch, den 6.11. bis Sonntag, den 10.11., sowie am Sonntag, den 17.11.2019 in unseren Auktionsräumen am Bretonischen Ring 3 in 85630 Grasbrunn / München von jeweils 14 bis 18 Uhr (MEZ) statt.

Versteigerungsort

Hermann Historica, Bretonischer Ring 3, 85630 Grasbrunn / München

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: A80s
Auktion: 80
Anzahl der Lose: 1530
Fachthema: Schusswaffen
Beschreibung

Das Blättern in diesem umfangreichen Katalog macht den engagierten Sammler einfach glücklich. So können wir den Sammler und Liebhaber bei über 1.500 Losen auf eine Reise durch die Entwicklung der Feuerwaffen mitnehmen.

Während man noch zu Beginn des 16. Jdts. mit Radschlössern experimentiert hatte, schuf man bereits in der 2. Hälfte des Jdts. wahre Kunstwerke wie eine reich verbeinte, süddeutsche Luxus-Radschlossbüchse (Los 13). Zur gleichen Zeit statteten Landesfürsten ihre Leibgarden mit fast ebenso aufwändigen Radschlosswaffen aus. Der Kurfürst von Sachsen zum Beispiel gab seinen Trabanten im Laufe der Jahre drei verschiedene Modelle von Radschlosspuffern (Lose 38, 39, 40 und 41) an die Seite.

Fast hundert Jahre später, als das Steinschloss dann das Radschloss ablöste, nahm man das Gewehr natürlich auch ins Revier und auf die Jagd mit und unter der Losnummer 46 findet sich eine ganze Sammlung formvollendeter Flinten aus der Gewehrkammer Georgs I. von Hannover.

Aber nicht nur im Norden wusste man schöne Jagdwaffen zu schätzen. Ganz zu Beginn des 18. Jhdts. ließ sich der erste selbst gekrönte König in Preußen, Friedrich I., von Christian Haman eine reich verzierte Steinschlossbüchse bauen (Los 53). Auch am österreichischen Hof ging der sonst so spartanische und pflichtbewusste Kaiser Franz Joseph I., wiederum über ein Jhdt. später, mit einer reich verzierten Doppelbüchse des hervorragenden Prager Büchsenmachers Anton Vincent Lebeda auf die Pirsch (Los 62).

Nachdem man im Laufe der Zeit mit einer Feuerwaffe immer nur einen oder bestenfalls wenige Schüsse abgeben konnte, ersannen findige Geister die Metallpatrone und den Revolver und gegen Ende des 19. Jhdts mehrschüssige, halbautomatische Pistolen wie die Bergmann-Schmeißer M 1894 (Los 460), die Schwarzlose Modell Standard (Los 564) und die Mauser C 96. In unserer 80. Auktion bieten wir diese geradezu legendäre Pistole als „Early Step-Barrel Cone Hammer“ mit der Seriennummer „76“ an (Los 508), wobei man wissen sollte, dass die bekannte C 96, mit der Kaiser Wilhelm II auf dem Schießplatz Katharinenholz in Potsdam schoss, die Seriennummer „75“ trug.

Logischerweise mussten den halbautomatischen die vollautomatischen Faustfeuerwaffen folgen, wie die Stechkin APS, die sie als komplettes Set im Koffer erwerben können (Los 1145).

Informationen
Artikel-Nr.: A80s
Auktion: 80
Anzahl der Lose: 1530
Fachthema: Schusswaffen